Discretionary Discounted Gift Trusts

Good morning all,

I was wondering whether anyone had any views on this, as I have to admit I’ve very little experience with these plans:

My client has three ‘discretionary discounted gift trusts’ - set up in July 2001, November 2006 and May 2007. Her attorneys were sent paperwork last year to say there “may be a 10 year charge” re the 2007 plan, however they did nothing and are now concerned.

The 2006 and 2007 trusts are certainly within the RPT regime and subject to 10 yearly charges, and I wanted to check whether you agreed that the 2001 plan was also subject to these - it too is described as a discretionary discounted gift trust and mirrors the other two in all but date. It looks very much like your ‘standard’ DGT and the Settlor receives monthly capital payments. They are all St James’s Place plans.

The 10-year value of 2007 DGT was low (£108,607.00 with likely no ‘discount’ as the settlor is very, very unwell and in her late 80s) however if both the 2001 and 2006 DGTs are CLTs (and within 7 years prior to the 2007 trust) then there’s only c.£42,000 NRB available and so just under a c.£4,000 10 year charge, on my [crude] calculations.

Am I approaching this correctly?

I would obviously like to view the 2001 DGT as a PET, but I just don’t think it can be as its definition is discretionary.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Georgina Sinha
Calibrate Law