Evicting a beneficiary?

I am hoping for some general pointers as I am straying into contentious work which I have very little experience of. I am dealing with an intestate estate. There are four beneficiaries, the deceased’s children. The main assets are a bank account and the property in which the deceased lived with one of his sons. The son is not on the title register. The son has managed to close the bank account without showing any grant/letters. The account contained about £25,000.00. The other children were surprised and upset when he refused to had the money over. Letters of administration in the name of the other three children have been obtained. The son is now refusing to move out of the deceased’s home and there is no prospect of reasoning with him I fear. My thoughts were to start eviction/possession proceedings (not sure of the term). Would this be possible and if so could the administrators deduct from the share the son is to receive (from the proceeds of sale) the monies he has obtained from the deceased’s bank account? Also would the cost of any proceedings be a liability of the estate or could the administrators deduct this from the son’s share of the estate? Any guidance would be appreciated.

sharon edelstyn
Phoenix Legal Group

It sounds very straightforward but you need to be aware that the resident son may raise defences, either based on proprietary estoppel or as part of a claim under Inheritance (PFD) Act 1975. I believe that the normal litigation practice nowadays is to write a detailed letter before action to the son, to try and get him to consult lawyers who will reply with any reasons which he thinks justifies his remaining in occupation. This should get the issues out in the open before the administrators incur the expense of bringing proceedings. If he doesn’t respond and proceedings are issued and he then tries to raise a defence he will be at some risk as to costs