Winding up a Trust via Saunders v Vautier?

Please excuse any mistakes in the below, it is my first time contacting the Trusts Discussion Forum. I would really appropriate any advice regarding the possibility of winding up a trust using Saunders v Vautier.

We act as Trustee for a large Indian family trust. The trust was set up in 1962 by the Settlor.

During the Settlor’s lifetime, the trustees were to pay income to him and on his death the income was to be paid to his wife for her lifetime. The Settlor and his wife have since died.

On the death of the Settlor and his wife, the trust income and capital was split into 18 stripes. These 18 stripes have then been distributed amongst 12 interest in possession trusts for each of the Settlor’s children and children-in-law (the Life Tenants).

Each interest in possession trust is to pay the income that arises from the stripe to the Life Tenant during their lifetime. The capital and income is then to go to the Life Tenant’s children who have attained the age of 21 (the Remaindermen).

The Remaindermen are now all above the age of 21 and some of the Life Tenants have since died. The family wish to wind up the trust as they are finding it an annoyance and it is producing very little income (around £2,000 pa).

The trust deed does not have a power of appointment and therefore I believe we would have to rely on s.32 TA 1925 for the statutory power of advancement. I understand that the life tenants will have to consent via writing that they are happy for the trustees to advance the capital to the remaindermen. Since the trust was created before 1 Oct 2014 however, I am aware that the trustees can only appoint out half what the beneficiaries are entitled to.

I know that the family want to bring the whole trust to an end so only distributing out half is not going to satisfy them.

I have also been told that one of the Life Tenants has Alzimhers although we believe there may be a Power of Attorney in place.