Probate and Executorship Query

I am a probate and conveyancing solicitor. One of my close friends (L) has an Aunt (MT) who just died, L after some pecuniary bequests is residuary legatee and she is also first named executrix with the directors of another firm who drew the will.

There is a house to convey and L has instructed me but the other solicitors are up in arms and saying they must do the conveyancing too (as well as the probate work). L is adamant she wants me to do the conveyancing. Can I insist upon acting?
Emily Deane
STEP

I think the twin starting points are that:
(a) the executors must make a joint decision to instruct anybody; and
(b) the executors must act in the best interests of the estate.

L should of course have discussed it with the professional executors before attempting to instruct you, and there may well be benefits to dealing with it all under the same roof, but I am still surprised at their attitude, particularly if she is sole residuary legatee. She can of course refuse to instruct them to handle the conveyancing but equally they can refuse to instruct you. She might ask you and them for comparative fee quotes and, if they are more expensive, it would put them in a difficult position. At the very least they must justify their position and explain why it is in the interests of the estate (ie effectively L) that they do the work.