Beneficiary without a bank account

A beneficiary has been left a legacy of £2,000. He says he does not have, and has never had, a bank account - only a Post Office account into which only his State Pension can be paid. He has asked if the legacy can be paid to a third party or in cash. Our policy has always to resist such requests, partly because beneficiaries sometimes openly request this on the ground that it will otherwise affect their benefits! I have no knowledge of whether this beneficiary receives means-tested benefits. What do others do in such circumstances?

Nathan Bowles
Williamson & Barnes

Had this before. Caution understood but the basis of a means tested claim is between the beneficiary and DWP plus given the modest sum we would accept a letter prepped by us for the beneficiary to sign directing where the payment is to go; ideally to another beneficiary already ID’d and the letter contain statements

No bank account to receive a payment.
Payment to the account specified is settlement of the claim / entitlement.
(Name) the account holder is my (brother/sister/friend etc)
I will make my own private arrangements to recover the sum from (name)

John Cartlidge
Campion Solicitors

I don’t see any harm in paying the legacy in cash if the recipient requests it and is prepared to attend in person to collect and give a receipt. I’d be reluctant, for prudential reasons, to pay it to a third party unless I knew both well- which is not, I assume, the case here. If you have reason to suspect that the beneficiary is asking for this in order avoid loss of benefits (unlikely with a legacy of £2000, but possible) your dilemma is greater. Personally, I think the entitlement to the legacy overrides your scruples about how the beneficiary may use it.

A contrary view is expressed in the latest philippic from the SRA about personal injury practice, where they say: