Estate distributed in 2001: missing items

A testatrix lent paintings to a museum. She died in 2001, leaving her estate to charities. When the museum contacted her solicitor in 2019 to ask if it could acquire the paintings, the solicitor told the museum about her death. The solicitor had not known about the paintings. Since then, the solicitor has not responded to e-mails. I am a Law professor who helps the museum sector (and points them towards obtaining further legal advice). My initial reaction is that, because the rest of the estate was distributed so long ago, that it is too late for the charities to claim the paintings. But I would be grateful for others’ views, which I will pass on to the museum.

Janet Ulph
University of Leicester

I don’t see how the passage of time would prevent the charities from claiming the paintings, or even agreeing to the sale of them to the museum.

I’d advise the museum to get a copy of the Will and contact the charities directly.

Fiona Dodd
Mayo Wynne Baxter

Hi Janet,

I’d suggest you have a Resulting Trust. It was never intended the museum owns the paintings, therefore on request they ought to be returned to the trustees of the estate.

The time period is irrelevant.

Richard Bishop
PFEP

Could you please explain why you think section 22(1)(a) of the Limitation Act 1980 will not operate to bar the claims of the beneficiaries under the will, given that the estate was distributed in 2001?

Janet Ulph
University of Leicester

Hi Janet,

s.22 LA 1980 is for a legatee who has ‘rights’ over the estate at the time of death. i.e 12 years to make a claim on the estate from the date of death.

The paintings are held on an implied trust by operation of law, the property was transferred with no payment, therefore, the museum is implied to have held the property for benefit of others.

My view based on the facts above.

Richard Bishop
PFEP