STEP PROVISIONS and SCOTTISH WILLS

I have been writing wills for clients using software for many years, mostly English though I live in Scotland. I was using software by Countrywide Legacy which offers the option to provide a Scots or English Domicile version. I was concerned when I entered info for a Scots client and the draft included the standard ‘STEP Provisions will apply’ clause. I queried this with them and was assured that this was appropriate. But to my knowledge, STEP Provisions are only fully appropriate in E&W and NI and I am not aware of any Scottish STEP provison.

I wonder what the forum members think? What is the implication of a Scotsman having an English will and vice versa

John McFarlan
Medical Finance

I understand that there is no significant objection to a Scotsman having an English will, or vice versa. It might increase the costs of the administration of the estate, as the executor may need to take ongoing advice on the application of a law with which they are not familiar.

Does the software use domicile to identify the governing law of the will? If not, so that the will is governed by E&W Law regardless of domicile, I do not believe there is a problem with incorporating the STEP Standard Provisions.

However, if the governing law changes to reflect the intending testator’s domicile, I have difficulty in understanding why someone drafting a Scots Law will should include the STEP Standard Provisions which reference only E&W Law. Much of the legislation referenced in the standard provisions has no standing under Scots Law and so many of the provisions may be nullified. It seems to me that their inclusion in a non-E&W will (or trust) may be a recipe for confusion and dispute.

If the governing law follows domicile, I wonder if the software providers are able to provide an unqualified opinion from an appropriate Scottish Academic supporting their contention?

Paul Saunders FCIB TEP

Independent Trust Consultant